The Beatles’ diary -- 1st August 1963

Thursday, 1st August 1963

UK singles chart
  1. Confessin’ – Frank Ifield
  2. Devil In Disguise – Elvis Presley
  3. Sweets For My Sweet – The Searchers
  4. Atlantis – The Shadows
  5. Twist And Shout – Brian Poole & The Tremeloes
UK albums chart
  1. Please Please Me – The Beatles
  2. Greatest Hits – The Shadows
  3. Summer Holiday – Cliff Richard
  4. Reminiscing – Buddy Holly
  5. Cliff’s Hit Album – Cliff Richard

Recording session for the radio show ‘Pop Go The Beatles’ at the Playhouse Theatre This show was transmitted on 27th August (BBC Light Programme). They played Ooh! My Soul, Don’t Ever Change, Twist And Shout, She Loves You, Anna (Go To Him) and A Shot Of Rhythm And Blues.

A further session for ‘Pop Go The Beatles’ took place later in the day at the Playhouse Theatre This show was transmitted on 3rd September (BBC Light Programme). They played Lucille, From Me To You, I’ll Get You, Money (That’s What I Want), Baby It’s You, There’s A Place, Honey Don’t and Roll Over Beethoven.

The first edition of ‘The Beatles Book’ came out – their monthly fan-club magazine. It was edited by Sean O’Mahony, the same guy who did ‘Beat International’. The first issue sold 80,000 copies, and at it’s height a few years later it was shifting over 350,000 a month! It ran for 77 issues until December ’69, after which it ceased publication. is not affiliated with or approved by The Beatles, Apple, MPL, EMI or Capitol Records.
Original content Copyright © 2017 Craig Cross / All rights reserved.
No part of this website may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form without the prior written permission of the author.