The Beatles’ diary -- 1st March 1966

Tuesday, 1st March 1966

UK singles chart
  1. These Boots Are Made For Walkin’ – Nancy Sinatra
  2. Nineteenth Nervous Breakdown – The Rolling Stones
  3. Groovy Kind Of Love – Mindbenders
  4. You Were On My Mind – Crispian St Peters
  5. My Love – Petula Clark
UK albums chart
  1. The Sound Of Music – Original Soundtrack
  2. Rubber Soul – The Beatles
  3. The 2Nd Lp – Spencer Davis Group
  4. Mary Poppins – Original Soundtrack
  5. Going Places – Herb Alpert & The Tijuana Brass

The BBC showed an edited version of the Shea Stadium concert on TV. Because of the poor quality of the source tape, all of the songs had to be over-dubbed. ‘I Feel Fine’ and ‘Help!’ were re-recorded from scratch with an audience backing track (which wasn’t easy to do, because they had to match their singing with the footage) and ‘Act Naturally’ was blatantly swapped with the one on the album (so at one point Ringo appeared to be singing with his mouth shut!). ‘She’s A Woman’ and ‘Everybody’s Trying To Be My Baby’ were deleted altogether and ‘Twist And Shout’ was inter-mingled with the one at the Hollywood Bowl, so John’s vocal sounds like it’s double-tracked. is not affiliated with or approved by The Beatles, Apple, MPL, EMI or Capitol Records.
Original content Copyright © 2017 Craig Cross / All rights reserved.
No part of this website may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form without the prior written permission of the author.