The Beatles’ diary -- 16th November 1963

Saturday, 16th November 1963

UK singles chart
  1. You’ll Never Walk Alone – Gerry & The Pacemakers
  2. Sugar And Spice – The Searchers
  3. She Loves You – The Beatles
  4. Blue Bayou / Mean Woman Blues – Roy Orbison
  5. Be My Baby – Ronettes
UK albums chart
  1. Please Please Me – The Beatles
  2. How Do You Like It – Gerry & The Pacemakers
  3. Meet The Searchers – The Searchers
  4. Born Free – Frank Ifield
  5. Kenny Ball’s Golden Hits – Kenny Ball

Performance at the Winter Gardens Theatre in Bournemouth, as part of their British Tour. They played I Saw Her Standing There, From Me To You, All My Loving, You Really Got A Hold On Me, Roll Over Beethoven, Boys, Till There Was You, She Loves You, Money (That’s What I Want) and Twist And Shout.

All three leading American broadcasters – CBS, NBC and ABC – attended a Beatles’ gig in Bournemouth with a view to showing some footage on American telly. In the event, the only exposure that they received was a four-minute segment on NBC’s ‘The Huntley-Brinkley Report’ and a minor piece on CBS’s ‘Morning News With Mike Wallace’.

“Those are the Beatles, those are,” reported Alexander Kendrick. “And this is Beatleland, formally known as Britain, where an epidemic called Beatlemania has seized the teenage population… These four boys from Liverpool, with their dish-mop hairstyles, are Britain’s latest musical, and, in fact, sociological phenomena. They have introduced what their press agents call the ‘Mersey Sound,’ after the River Mersey on which Liverpool stands. And though …

→  Read more in The Beatles: Day-by-Day, Song-by-Song, Record-by-Record is not affiliated with or approved by The Beatles, Apple, MPL, EMI or Capitol Records.
Original content Copyright © 2017 Craig Cross / All rights reserved.
No part of this website may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form without the prior written permission of the author.