The Beatles’ diary -- 22nd January 1969

Wednesday, 22nd January 1969

UK singles chart
  1. Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da – Marmalade
  2. Albatross – Fleetwood Mac
  3. Build Me Up Buttercup – Foundations
  4. Lily The Pink – The Scaffold
  5. For Once In My Life – Stevie Wonder
UK albums chart
  1. The White Album – The Beatles
  2. Best Of The Seekers – The Seekers
  3. Beggars Banquet – The Rolling Stones
  4. The Graduate – Simon & Garfunkel
  5. The Sound Of Music – Original Soundtrack

Recording session at Apple Studios during which they recorded Dig A Pony, I’ve Got A Feeling, Don’t Let Me Down, Rocker, She Came In Through The Bathroom Window, Save The Last Dance For Me, Going Up The Country, Madman and Every Night.

Work resumed at Apple with Billy Preston on the keyboards. George had been to see him play at the London Palladium the previous night, and as soon as he walked through the door “I just grabbed him,” he said, “and brought him down to the studio to play.”

Inviting him along proved to be a masterstroke, because it immediately put everyone on their best behaviour. “When Billy got on the piano,“ he recalled, “there was straight away a 100% improvement in the vibe in the room. Billy didn’t know all the politics and the games that had been going on, so in his innocence, he got stuck in and gave a little kick to the band.”

Preston eventually signed with Apple and made a couple of albums himself. He also appeared on George’s ‘All Things Must Pass’ LP, John’s ‘John Lennon/Plastic Ono …

→  Read more in The Beatles: Day-by-Day, Song-by-Song, Record-by-Record is not affiliated with or approved by The Beatles, Apple, MPL, EMI or Capitol Records.
Original content Copyright © 2017 Craig Cross / All rights reserved.
No part of this website may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form without the prior written permission of the author.