The Beatles’ diary -- 22nd June 1961

Thursday, 22nd June 1961

UK singles chart
  1. Surrender – Elvis Presley
  2. Runaway – Del Shannon
  3. Frightened City – The Shadows
  4. More Than I Can Say / Staying In – Bobby Vee
  5. But I Do – Clarence ’Frogman’ Henry
UK albums chart
  1. G.I. Blues – Elvis Presley
  2. South Pacific – Original Soundtrack
  3. Listen To Cliff – Cliff Richard
  4. His Hand In Mine – Elvis Presley
  5. The Black And White Minstrel Show – The George Mitchell Minstrels

Recording session at Friedrich Ebert Halle during which they recorded My Bonnie, The Saints, Why, Nobody’s Child and Ain’t She Sweet.

They also performed at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

The Beatles first professional recording session! This was basically just a case of being in the right place at the right time, because top Polydor music-man Berthold Kaempfert signed Tony up for some singles. And seeing as the Beatles were acting as his backing-band they got the nod as well. With this handy step up the ladder came another piece of news – Stu sensed that the time was right to bow out for good.

“It had already been decided among the rest of us that he would not take part in the recording session,” said Pete, “because, it was agreed, the more experienced Paul would make a better showing on bass guitar. I believe Stu had guessed that this might happen, and the embarrassment of having to tell him never arose. Instead he broke the news to us that he wanted to leave …

→  Read more in The Beatles: Day-by-Day, Song-by-Song, Record-by-Record is not affiliated with or approved by The Beatles, Apple, MPL, EMI or Capitol Records.
Original content Copyright © 2017 Craig Cross / All rights reserved.
No part of this website may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form without the prior written permission of the author.