The Beatles’ diary -- 6th January 1969

Monday, 6th January 1969

UK singles chart
  1. Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da – Marmalade
  2. Lily The Pink – The Scaffold
  3. Build Me Up Buttercup – Foundations
  4. Albatross – Fleetwood Mac
  5. I’m The Urban Spaceman – Bonzo Dog Doo-Dah Band
UK albums chart
  1. The White Album – The Beatles
  2. Best Of The Seekers – The Seekers
  3. Beggars Banquet – The Rolling Stones
  4. The Sound Of Music – Original Soundtrack
  5. The Graduate – Simon & Garfunkel

Recording session at Twickenham Studios during which they recorded Right String, Wrong Yo-Yo, Hear Me Lord and Let’s Dance.

John’s diary finally got into gear, and featured an altogether more amusing entry: “Fucked the wife.”

The Beatles spent the whole morning jamming aimlessly, before wasting another couple of hours on a lousy ‘Don’t Let Me Down’ rehearsal. With the live-show creeping up on them day-by-day, Paul was starting to sweat – because if they got up on-stage playing as shit as this, then they would kill the myth stone dead! So he started directing the rehearsals, and bossing them about, and George’s temper started to fray. Today was also the first time that Yoko offered up an opinion – something that got on ‘everyone’s’ nerves (except John’s). She suggested performing the show in front of a ‘conceptual audience’, in an empty auditorium, after George complained that they’ll just be drowned …

→  Read more in The Beatles: Day-by-Day, Song-by-Song, Record-by-Record is not affiliated with or approved by The Beatles, Apple, MPL, EMI or Capitol Records.
Original content Copyright © 2017 Craig Cross / All rights reserved.
No part of this website may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form without the prior written permission of the author.