The Beatles’ diary -- 7th November 1969

Friday, 7th November 1969

UK singles chart
  1. Sugar Sugar – The Archies
  2. I’m Gonna Make You Mine – Lou Christie
  3. He Ain’t Heavy He’s My Brother – The Hollies
  4. Oh Well – Fleetwood Mac
  5. Space Oddity – David Bowie
UK albums chart
  1. Abbey Road – The Beatles
  2. Motown Chartbusters Vol. 3 – Various Artists
  3. Johnny Cash At San Quentin – Johnny Cash
  4. Through The Past Darkly (Big Hits Vol. 2) – The Rolling Stones
  5. In The Court Of The Crimson King – King Crimson

John’s third solo album ‘The Wedding Album’ was released in the UK. One side lasted for 22 minutes, and just consisted of John and Yoko’s heartbeats and them calling out each others names in various different ways – laughing, shouting, crying, weeping etc. It also contained 24 minutes of press interviews and recordings from their Amsterdam bed-in. It also came with passport photos, room-service phone-calls, a cardboard cake, press clippings and a copy of their marriage certificate. An amusing episode occurred when the ‘Melody Maker’s’ Richard Williams mistakenly reviewed all four sides of the advance pressing that he’d been sent – not realising that two of them consisted of EQ test tones. And he found them quite interesting! He wrote: “Side Two and Four consist entirely of single …

→  Read more in The Beatles: Day-by-Day, Song-by-Song, Record-by-Record is not affiliated with or approved by The Beatles, Apple, MPL, EMI or Capitol Records.
Original content Copyright © 2017 Craig Cross / All rights reserved.
No part of this website may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form without the prior written permission of the author.