The Beatles’ diary -- April 1963

April 1963

Monday, 1st April

Recording session for the radio show ‘Side By Side’ at the BBC Piccadilly Studios This show was transmitted on 22nd April (BBC Light Programme). They played I Saw Her Standing There, Do You Want To Know A Secret, Baby It’s You, Please Please Me, From Me To You and Misery.

A further session for ‘Side By Side’ took place later in the day at the BBC Piccadilly Studios This show was transmitted on 13th May (BBC Light Programme). They played From Me To You, Long Tall Sally, A Taste Of Honey, Chains, Thank You Girl and Boys.

Wednesday, 3rd April

Recording session for the radio show ‘Easy Beat’ at the Playhouse Theatre This show was transmitted on 7th April (BBC Light Programme). They played Please Please Me, Misery and From Me To You.

Thursday, 4th April

Performance at the Stowe School in Stowe.

There was also a recording session for the radio show ‘Side By Side’ at the BBC Paris Studio This show was transmitted on 24th June (BBC Light Programme). They played Too Much Monkey Business, Love Me Do, Boys, I’ll Be On My Way and From Me To You.

Friday, 5th April

Performance at the Swimming Baths in Leyton.

Saturday, 6th April

Performance at the Pavilion Gardens Ballroom in Buxton.

Sunday, 7th April

Performance at the Savoy Ballroom in Southsea, Portsmouth.

Monday, 8th April

John and Cynthia had a bouncing baby boy, and called him Julian – after John’s dead mother, Julia. John asked Brian if he’d mind being godfather.

Tuesday, 9th April

Performance at the Gaumont State Cinema in Kilburn, London.

There was also a recording session for the radio show ‘Pop Inn’ at the BBC Paris Studio This show was transmitted live (BBC Light Programme) and featured interviews with John Lennon, Paul McCartney, George Harrison and Ringo Starr.

A further session for ‘Tuesday Rendezvous’ took place later in the day at the Wembley Studios. The programme was broadcast live (Assoc-Rediff). They played From Me To You and Please Please Me.

Wednesday, 10th April

Performance at the Majestic Ballroom in Birkenhead.

Thursday, 11th April

‘From Me To You’ single – front cover ReleasedUK single. From Me To You Peak position: BBC – #1; Disc Weekly – #1; Melody Maker – #1; NME – #1; Record Retailer – #1

Performance at the Co-operative Hall in Middleton.

Friday, 12th April

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Saturday, 13th April

Recording session for the TV show ‘The 625 Show’ at the Lime Grove Studios. This show was broadcast on 16th April (BBC). They played From Me To You, Thank You Girl and Please Please Me.

Sunday, 14th April

Recording session for the TV show ‘Thank Your Lucky Stars’ at the Teddington Studio Centre. This show was broadcast on 20th April (ABC). They played From Me To You.

The Beatles saw The Rolling Stones playing at the Crawdaddy Club in Station Road, Richmond. This was the same month that Andrew Loog Oldham discovered them as well… so they were on the verge of becoming famous.

Monday, 15th April

Performance at the Bridge Hotel in Tenbury Wells.

Tuesday, 16th April

Recording session for the TV show ‘Scene At 6.30’ at the Granada TV Centre. The programme was broadcast live (Granada). They played From Me To You.

Wednesday, 17th April

Performance at the Majestic Ballroom in Luton.

Thursday, 18th April

Performance at the Royal Albert Hall in South Kensington, London. They played Please Please Me, Misery, Twist And Shout and From Me To You.

There was also a recording session for the radio show ‘Swinging Sound ’63’ at the Royal Albert Hall This show was transmitted live (BBC Light Programme).

Paul met 17-year-old Jane Asher at the Royal Albert Hall. She was writing a piece for the ‘Radio Times’ and had to interview them out the back.

Friday, 19th April

Performance at the King’s Hall in Stoke-on-Trent.

Saturday, 20th April

Performance at the Mersey View Pleasure Grounds in Frodsham.

Sunday, 21st April

Performance at the Empire Pool in Wembley, attended by 10,000 people. They played Please Please Me, From Me To You, Twist And Shout and Long Tall Sally.

They played another show at the Pigalle Club in London later in the day.

Tuesday, 23rd April

Performance at the Floral Hall in Southport.

Wednesday, 24th April

Performance at the Majestic Ballroom in Finsbury Park, London, attended by 2,000 people.

Thursday, 25th April

Performance at the Fairfield Hall in Croydon.

Friday, 26th April

Performance at the Music Hall in Shrewsbury.

Saturday, 27th April

Performance at the Victory Memorial Hall in Northwich.

Sunday, 28th April

Paul, George and Ringo went on a two-week holiday to Tenerife, but John and Brian went to Spain together, which started off the famous gay rumour.


 
Beatles-discography.com is not affiliated with or approved by The Beatles, Apple, MPL, EMI or Capitol Records.
Original content Copyright © 2017 Craig Cross / Beatles-discography.com. All rights reserved.
No part of this website may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form without the prior written permission of the author.
Admin