The Beatles’ diary -- August 1962

August 1962

Sometime in August (date unknown) John and Cynthia met the mums round Cynthia’s house in Hoylake. What followed was two god-awful hours of moaning misery, with the mother-in-laws pointing out every little fault and mistake they ever made. “John and I were very upset,” said Cyn. “We were both in love with each other, and for the two dearest people in our lives to stand in front of us saying what terrible people we were, and how they hated us for getting together, was awful. I think they did it because they didn’t get on and they didn’t want us to get on either.”

A few weeks later Cynthia informed John that she was pregnant, so he did the honourable thing and popped the question.

Wednesday, 1st August

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Friday, 3rd August

Performance at the Grafton Rooms in Liverpool.

Saturday, 4th August

Performance at the Victoria Hall in Higher Bebington, Wirral.

Sunday, 5th August

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Tuesday, 7th August

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Wednesday, 8th August

Performance at the Co-op Ballroom in Doncaster.

Thursday, 9th August

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Friday, 10th August

Performance at the MV Royal Iris in River Mersey, Liverpool.

Saturday, 11th August

Performance at the Odd Spot Club in Liverpool.

Sunday, 12th August

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Monday, 13th August

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

They played another show at the Majestic Ballroom in Crewe later in the day.

Tuesday, 14th August

John phoned up Ringo and asked him if he wanted to replace Pete. And seeing as he was drumming in a Welsh Butlins at the time, he didn’t take much persuading. He gave Rory Storm three days notice and packed his bags for Liverpool. “In gold cowboy boots, with a grey streak in his hair and a thin desperado moustache and beard,” said Brian, “Ringo was playing drums at Butlins holiday camp when the first crisis hit the Beatles under my management…”

Wednesday, 15th August

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Pete Best’s last gig with The Beatles.

Thursday, 16th August

Performance at the Riverpark Ballroom in Chester.

Brian Epstein sacked Pete Best by inviting him into the office and blurting it out: “The boys want you out of the group. They don’t think you’re a good enough drummer.”

Friday, 17th August

Performance at the Majestic Ballroom in Birkenhead.

They played another show at the Tower Ballroom in New Brighton, Wallasey later in the day.

Saturday, 18th August

Performance at the Hulme Hall in Port Sunlight, Birkenhead (22:00).

The first Beatles concert with Ringo behind the drum-kit, at Hulme Hall in Birkenhead. But he didn’t enjoy it: “They loved Pete. But me, I was just a skinny, bearded scruff. Brian didn’t really like me either – he thought I didn’t have the personality. And why get a bad-looking cat when you already had a good-looking one?”

Sunday, 19th August

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

The first gig at The Cavern with the full line-up. Pete lady-mates were waiting at the gate and attacked them with bazookas and pistols as they tried to enter. George was jostled about and ended up with a black-eye – which was still visible on their first set of publicity photos. Chants were going up “Pete forever, Ringo never!”

Monday, 20th August

Performance at the Majestic Ballroom in Crewe.

Wednesday, 22nd August

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

There was also a recording session for the TV show ‘Scene At 6.30’ at the Cavern Club. This show was broadcast on 6th November 1963 (Granada). They played Some Other Guy.

The earliest surviving piece of Beatles footage was recorded on this day. The short black-and-white movie shows them playing ‘Some Other Guy’ at the Cavern.

Thursday, 23rd August

Performance at the Riverpark Ballroom in Chester.

John married Cynthia Powell at Mount Pleasant Registry Office. He was twenty-one and she was twenty-two. It wasn’t exactly the most romantic day of their lives because the whole thing was drowned-out by near-by road-works.

Friday, 24th August

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

They played another show at the Majestic Ballroom in Birkenhead later in the day.

Saturday, 25th August

Performance at the Marine Hall Ballroom in Fleetwood.

Sunday, 26th August

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Tuesday, 28th August

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Wednesday, 29th August

Performance at the Floral Hall Ballroom in Morecambe.

Thursday, 30th August

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

They played another show at the Riverpark Ballroom in Chester later in the day.

Friday, 31st August

Performance at the Town Hall in Lydney.


 
Beatles-discography.com is not affiliated with or approved by The Beatles, Apple, MPL, EMI or Capitol Records.
Original content Copyright © 2017 Craig Cross / Beatles-discography.com. All rights reserved.
No part of this website may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form without the prior written permission of the author.
Admin