The Beatles’ diary -- December 1962

December 1962

Sometime in November/December (date unknown) Cynthia had a threatened miscarriage which really put the wind up her. “I was alone,” she said. “John was away and I started panicking.” So John decided to visit Mimi and ask her advice. He was a little bit nervous because he hadn’t seen her since she boycotted the wedding, but he needn’t have worried… “You can’t stay in that flat on your own,” she said. “Come and live with me. I’ll move upstairs and you and John can live downstairs.”

This proved to be a blessing for Mimi, but not for Cynthia, because they didn’t really get on and they quickly started looking for a place of their own.

Saturday, 1st December

Performance at the Tower Ballroom in New Brighton, Wallasey.

They played another show at the Victory Memorial Hall in Northwich later in the day.

Sunday, 2nd December

Performance at the Embassy Cinema in Peterborough.

Monday, 3rd December

Recording session for the TV show ‘Discs A Gogo’ at the TWW Television Centre. The programme was broadcast live (TWW). They played Love Me Do.

Tuesday, 4th December

Recording session for the TV show ‘Tuesday Rendezvous’ at the Wembley Studios. The programme was broadcast live (Assoc-Rediff). They played Love Me Do and P.S. I Love You.

Wednesday, 5th December

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Thursday, 6th December

Performance at the Queen’s Hotel in Southport.

Friday, 7th December

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

They played another show at the Tower Ballroom in New Brighton, Wallasey later in the day.

Saturday, 8th December

Performance at the Oasis Club in Manchester.

Sunday, 9th December

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

George Martin watched The Beatles playing at The Cavern, with a view to cutting a live album there.

Monday, 10th December

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Tuesday, 11th December

Performance at the La Scala Ballroom in Runcorn.

Wednesday, 12th December

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Thursday, 13th December

Performance at the Corn Exchange in Bedford.

Friday, 14th December

Performance at the Music Hall in Shrewsbury.

Saturday, 15th December

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

They played another show at the Majestic Ballroom in Birkenhead later in the day.

Sunday, 16th December

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Monday, 17th December

Recording session for the TV show ‘People And Places’ at the Granada TV Centre. The programme was broadcast live (Granada). They played Love Me Do and Twist And Shout.

Tuesday, 18th December

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

The Beatles flew back to Hamburg for another two-week stint at The Star-Club. The Beatles were once again very reluctant to go but they had no choice, because it had been arranged before they released the single.

Wednesday, 19th December

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Thursday, 20th December

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Friday, 21st December

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Saturday, 22nd December

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Sunday, 23rd December

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Monday, 24th December

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Tuesday, 25th December

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Wednesday, 26th December

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Thursday, 27th December

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

‘Love Me Do’ peaked at number 17.

Friday, 28th December

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

This is the probable date of that famous old story about John performing in nothing but his underpants, wearing a toilet seat around his neck.

Saturday, 29th December

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

For the last three nights of their two-week stint The Beatles were elevated to the top of the bill because Johnny and the Hurricanes took some time off. They shared the stage with Kingsize Taylor and Cliff Bennett and the Rebel Rousers, who happened to bag a tape of his own band.

Sunday, 30th December

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Monday, 31st December

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.


 
Beatles-discography.com is not affiliated with or approved by The Beatles, Apple, MPL, EMI or Capitol Records.
Original content Copyright © 2017 Craig Cross / Beatles-discography.com. All rights reserved.
No part of this website may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form without the prior written permission of the author.
Admin