The Beatles’ diary -- January 1961

January 1961

With Stu still in Hamburg, and Chas Newby back at college after Christmas, the Beatles found themselves without a bass-player (again). George wasn’t very keen on the instrument so Paul took over. The gigs soon started piling up, and they hired Pete’s mate Neil Aspinall to drive them around. “He bought this battered old grey and maroon model for fifteen quid,” said Pete. “But at least it went.”

Thursday, 5th January

Performance at the Town Hall Ballroom in Litherland, Liverpool.

Friday, 6th January

Performance at St. John’s Hall in Bootle.

Saturday, 7th January

Performance at the Aintree Institute in Aintree, Liverpool.

They played another show at the Lathom Hall in Seaforth, Liverpool later in the day.

Friday, 13th January

Performance at the Aintree Institute in Aintree, Liverpool.

Saturday, 14th January

Performance at the Aintree Institute in Aintree, Liverpool.

Sunday, 15th January

Performance at the Casbah Coffee Club in West Derby, Liverpool.

Wednesday, 18th January

Performance at the Aintree Institute in Aintree, Liverpool.

Thursday, 19th January

Performance at the Alexandra Hall in Crosby, Liverpool.

Friday, 20th January

Performance at the Lathom Hall in Seaforth, Liverpool.

Saturday, 21st January

Performance at the Aintree Institute in Aintree, Liverpool.

They played another show at the Lathom Hall in Seaforth, Liverpool later in the day.

Wednesday, 25th January

Performance at the Hambleton Hall in Huyton, Liverpool.

Thursday, 26th January

Performance at the Town Hall Ballroom in Litherland, Liverpool.

Friday, 27th January

Performance at the Aintree Institute in Aintree, Liverpool.

Saturday, 28th January

Performance at the Aintree Institute in Aintree, Liverpool.

They played another show at the Lathom Hall in Seaforth, Liverpool later in the day.

Sunday, 29th January

Performance at the Casbah Coffee Club in West Derby, Liverpool.

Monday, 30th January

Performance at the Lathom Hall in Seaforth, Liverpool.


 
Beatles-discography.com is not affiliated with or approved by The Beatles, Apple, MPL, EMI or Capitol Records.
Original content Copyright © 2017 Craig Cross / Beatles-discography.com. All rights reserved.
No part of this website may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form without the prior written permission of the author.
Admin