The Beatles’ diary -- July 1962

July 1962

Sometime during July (date unknown) George Martin telephoned Brian to tell him he was officially signing the Parlophone contract. It was a one-year contract, with an option for a further four years if the Beatles proved successful. The final terms of this contract have come under much scrutiny over the years – none more so than in 1967, when it came up for renewal. It will forever be remembered as one of the stingiest deals in pop. For every double-sided disc that the Beatles sold in the UK, they earned the grand total of… one pence (and back in those days, there were 240 pennies to the pound!). This was then split five ways. So for every million singles that the Beatles shifted, they each received a paltry £833.00 – hardly enough to get pissed on, let alone buy a house! During …

→  Read more in The Beatles: Day-by-Day, Song-by-Song, Record-by-Record

Sunday, 1st July

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

The Beatles shared a bill with legendary rock ‘n’ roller Gene Vincent.

Monday, 2nd July

Performance at the Plaza Ballroom in St. Helens.

Tuesday, 3rd July

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Wednesday, 4th July

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Thursday, 5th July

Performance at the Majestic Ballroom in Birkenhead.

Friday, 6th July

Performance at the MV Royal Iris in River Mersey, Liverpool.

The Beatles shared a bill with Acker Bilk, and he gave them one of his bowler hats as a souvenir.

Saturday, 7th July

Performance at the Hulme Hall in Port Sunlight, Birkenhead.

Sunday, 8th July

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Monday, 9th July

Performance at the Plaza Ballroom in St. Helens.

Tuesday, 10th July

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Wednesday, 11th July

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Thursday, 12th July

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

They played another show at the Majestic Ballroom in Birkenhead later in the day.

Friday, 13th July

Performance at the Tower Ballroom in New Brighton, Wallasey.

Saturday, 14th July

Performance at the Regent Dansette in Rhyl, Wales.

Sunday, 15th July

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Monday, 16th July

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

They played another show at the Plaza Ballroom in St. Helens later in the day.

Tuesday, 17th July

Performance at the McIlroy’s Ballroom in Swindon.

Wednesday, 18th July

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Thursday, 19th July

Performance at the Majestic Ballroom in Birkenhead.

Friday, 20th July

Performance at the Bell Hall in Warrington.

They played another show at the Cavern Club in Liverpool later in the day.

Saturday, 21st July

Performance at the Tower Ballroom in New Brighton, Wallasey.

Pete Best’s mum gave birth to a bouncing baby boy, called Roag. But guess who the father of Pete’s new half-brother was… it was none other than his own best-mate, Neil Aspinall! Nice one Neil.

Sunday, 22nd July

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Monday, 23rd July

Performance at the Kingsway Club in Southport.

Tuesday, 24th July

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Wednesday, 25th July

Performance at the Cabaret Club in Liverpool.

They played another show at the Cavern Club in Liverpool later in the day.

Thursday, 26th July

Performance at the Cambridge Hall in Southport.

Friday, 27th July

Performance at the Tower Ballroom in New Brighton, Wallasey.

Saturday, 28th July

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

They played another show at the Majestic Ballroom in Birkenhead later in the day.

Monday, 30th July

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

They played another show at St. John’s Hall in Bootle later in the day.


 
Beatles-discography.com is not affiliated with or approved by The Beatles, Apple, MPL, EMI or Capitol Records.
Original content Copyright © 2017 Craig Cross / Beatles-discography.com. All rights reserved.
No part of this website may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form without the prior written permission of the author.
Admin