The Beatles’ diary -- June 1961

June 1961

Thursday, 1st June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Cynthia Powell and Paul’s girlfriend, Dot Rhone, came to visit them in Hamburg. John and Cynthia stayed with Astrid, and Paul moved Dot into Rosa’s bungalow down by the docks. “I remember when Paul used to practise his guitar on the roof of my little place,” she said. “We used to get crowds of burly old Hamburg dockers hanging around, just listening. They shouted out things in German, but Paul didn’t understand them.”

Friday, 2nd June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Saturday, 3rd June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Sunday, 4th June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Monday, 5th June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Tuesday, 6th June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Wednesday, 7th June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Thursday, 8th June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Friday, 9th June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Saturday, 10th June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Sunday, 11th June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Monday, 12th June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Tuesday, 13th June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Wednesday, 14th June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Thursday, 15th June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Friday, 16th June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Saturday, 17th June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Sunday, 18th June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Monday, 19th June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Tuesday, 20th June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Wednesday, 21st June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Thursday, 22nd June

Recording session at Friedrich Ebert Halle during which they recorded My Bonnie, The Saints, Why, Nobody’s Child and Ain’t She Sweet.

They also performed at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

The Beatles first professional recording session. This was basically just a case of being in the right place at the right time, because top Polydor music-man Berthold Kaempfert signed Tony up for some singles, and seeing as the Beatles were acting as his backing-band they got the nod as well.

Friday, 23rd June

Recording session at Friedrich Ebert Halle during which they recorded My Bonnie, The Saints, Why, Nobody’s Child and Ain’t She Sweet.

They also performed at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Saturday, 24th June

Recording session at Friedrich Ebert Halle during which they recorded Take Out Some Insurance On Me, Baby.

They also performed at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Sunday, 25th June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Monday, 26th June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Tuesday, 27th June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Wednesday, 28th June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Thursday, 29th June

Performance at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Top Ten residency.

Friday, 30th June

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

They played another show at the Top Ten Club in Hamburg, West Germany later in the day, as part of their Top Ten residency.


 
Beatles-discography.com is not affiliated with or approved by The Beatles, Apple, MPL, EMI or Capitol Records.
Original content Copyright © 2017 Craig Cross / Beatles-discography.com. All rights reserved.
No part of this website may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form without the prior written permission of the author.
Admin