The Beatles’ diary -- June 1962

June 1962

Sometime in June (date unknown) Tony Sheridan released an album in Germany. This was the first album in history to feature the Beatles, who participated in ‘My Bonnie’ and ‘The Saints’. All of the other songs had a different backing-band, but the name stayed the same – Tony Sheridan and The Beat Brothers. Interestingly, the cover shot was taken by Astrid Kirchherr.

Saturday, 2nd June

The Beatles returned from Hamburg.

Monday, 4th June

Brian went to Hessey’s music shop in Liverpool and paid off the Beatles’ tab. George said: “We used to get all our stuff on what they call ‘on the knocker’ – a pound down and the rest when they catch you!” But Brian was minded that he’d have to deal with them in the future (and not just for The Beatles, but for his other bands as well), so he stumped up the money to keep them sweet.

Wednesday, 6th June

Recording session at EMI Studios No. 2 (19:00–22:00) during which they recorded Besame Mucho, Love Me Do, P.S. I Love You and Ask Me Why.

The Beatles’ EMI audition. Norman Smith remembered seeing his worksheet pinned up on the canteen wall: “It said ’7pm: The Beatles’. I thought, ‘Some typist has buggered up again’… They all looked so thin and weedy! We’d seen a few long-haired groups in our time, but nothing like The Beatles.”

Saturday, 9th June

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Monday, 11th June

Recording session for the radio show ‘Teenager’s Turn – Here We Go’ at the Playhouse Theatre This show was transmitted on 15th June (BBC Light Programme). They played Ask Me Why, Besame Mucho and A Picture Of You.

Tuesday, 12th June

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Wednesday, 13th June

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Friday, 15th June

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Saturday, 16th June

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Tuesday, 19th June

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Wednesday, 20th June

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Thursday, 21st June

Performance at the Tower Ballroom in New Brighton, Wallasey.

Friday, 22nd June

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Saturday, 23rd June

Performance at the Victory Memorial Hall in Northwich.

Sunday, 24th June

Performance at the Casbah Coffee Club in West Derby, Liverpool.

Monday, 25th June

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

They played another show at the Plaza Ballroom in St. Helens later in the day.

Tuesday, 26th June

Brian started up NEMS Enterprises to accommodate his fledging showbiz empire. By the end of June the company had its first employee -- Beryl Adams.

Wednesday, 27th June

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Thursday, 28th June

Performance at the Majestic Ballroom in Birkenhead.

Friday, 29th June

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

They played another show at the Tower Ballroom in New Brighton, Wallasey later in the day.

Saturday, 30th June

Performance at the Barnston Women’s Institute in Heswell, Wirral.


 
Beatles-discography.com is not affiliated with or approved by The Beatles, Apple, MPL, EMI or Capitol Records.
Original content Copyright © 2017 Craig Cross / Beatles-discography.com. All rights reserved.
No part of this website may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form without the prior written permission of the author.
Admin