The Beatles’ diary -- March 1967

March 1967

Sometime in March (date unknown) John bought an entire island off the coast of Ireland, called Dornish.

Wednesday, 1st March

Recording session at EMI Studios No. 2 (19:00–02:15) during which they recorded Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds and A Day In The Life.

Thursday, 2nd March

Recording session at EMI Studios No. 2 (19:00–03:30) during which they recorded Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds.

Friday, 3rd March

Recording session at EMI Studios No. 2 (19:00–02:15) during which they recorded Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band.

Monday, 6th March

Recording session at EMI Studios No. 2 (19:00–00:30) during which they recorded Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band.

Tuesday, 7th March

Recording session at EMI Studios No. 2 (19:00–02:30) during which they recorded Lovely Rita.

Thursday, 9th March

Recording session at EMI Studios No. 2 (19:00–03:30) during which they recorded Getting Better.

Friday, 10th March

Recording session at EMI Studios No. 2 (19:00–04:00) during which they recorded Getting Better.

Saturday, 11th March

The Beatles won three Grammy Awards: Best Vocal Performance for ‘Eleanor Rigby’; Best Song for ‘Michelle’, and Best Cover Artwork for ‘Revolver’.

Monday, 13th March

Recording session at EMI Studios No. 2 (19:00–03:30) during which they recorded Good Morning Good Morning.

Wednesday, 15th March

Recording session at EMI Studios No. 2 (19:00–01:30) during which they recorded Within You Without You.

Friday, 17th March

Recording session at EMI Studios No. 2 (19:00–00:45) during which they recorded She’s Leaving Home.

Monday, 20th March

Recording session at EMI Studios No. 2 during which they recorded She’s Leaving Home.

There was also a recording session for the radio show ‘The Ivor Novello Awards For 1966’ This show was transmitted on 27th March (BBC Light Programme) and featured interviews with John Lennon and Paul McCartney.

Tuesday, 21st March

Recording session at EMI Studios No. 2 (19:00–02:45) during which they recorded Getting Better and Lovely Rita.

Wednesday, 22nd March

Recording session at EMI Studios No. 2 (19:00–02:15) during which they recorded Within You Without You.

Thursday, 23rd March

Recording session at EMI Studios No. 2 (19:00–03:45) during which they recorded Getting Better.

Tuesday, 28th March

Recording session at EMI Studios No. 2 (19:00–04:45) during which they recorded Good Morning Good Morning and Being For The Benefit Of Mr. Kite!.

Wednesday, 29th March

Recording session at EMI Studios No. 2 (19:00–05:45) during which they recorded Good Morning Good Morning, Being For The Benefit Of Mr. Kite! and With A Little Help From My Friends.

Thursday, 30th March

Recording session at EMI Studios No. 2 (23:00–07:30) during which they recorded With A Little Help From My Friends.

The famous Sgt. Pepper’s photo shoot in Peter Blake’s studio down the old King’s Road.


 
Beatles-discography.com is not affiliated with or approved by The Beatles, Apple, MPL, EMI or Capitol Records.
Original content Copyright © 2017 Craig Cross / Beatles-discography.com. All rights reserved.
No part of this website may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form without the prior written permission of the author.
Admin