The Beatles’ diary -- May 1962

May 1962

Tuesday, 1st May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Wednesday, 2nd May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Thursday, 3rd May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Friday, 4th May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Saturday, 5th May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Sunday, 6th May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Monday, 7th May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Tuesday, 8th May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Brian visited the HMV shop at 363 Oxford Street to have the Decca audition tapes turned into acetates, and got chatting with Jim Foy. Foy was suitably impressed and suggested that he give Syd Coleman a visit on the top floor. Coleman then went on to arrange a meeting with George Martin.

Wednesday, 9th May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Brian had his first meeting with George Martin. “I liked the way he listened to the disc,” remembered Brian, “his long legs crossed, leaning on his elbows, rocking gently to and fro and nodding and smiling encouragingly.” But Martin was unconvinced.

Thursday, 10th May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Friday, 11th May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Saturday, 12th May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Sunday, 13th May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Monday, 14th May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Tuesday, 15th May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Wednesday, 16th May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Thursday, 17th May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Friday, 18th May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Saturday, 19th May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Sunday, 20th May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Monday, 21st May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Tuesday, 22nd May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Wednesday, 23rd May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Thursday, 24th May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

The Beatles fulfilled their short-term contract with Berthold Kaempfert by recording another couple of songs with Tony Sheridan. These songs were ‘Sweet Georgia Brown’ and ‘Swanee River’, which have gone on to grace many a lousy album.

Friday, 25th May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Saturday, 26th May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Sunday, 27th May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Monday, 28th May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Tuesday, 29th May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Wednesday, 30th May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.

Thursday, 31st May

Performance at the Star-Club in Hamburg, West Germany, as part of their Star-Club residency.


 
Beatles-discography.com is not affiliated with or approved by The Beatles, Apple, MPL, EMI or Capitol Records.
Original content Copyright © 2017 Craig Cross / Beatles-discography.com. All rights reserved.
No part of this website may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form without the prior written permission of the author.
Admin