The Beatles’ diary -- October 1962

October 1962

Monday, 1st October

Brian put his signature to The Beatles management contract – happy that he’d now fulfilled his end of the bargain. (The Beatles had signed it back in January.) It ran for the next five years.

Tuesday, 2nd October

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Wednesday, 3rd October

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Thursday, 4th October

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Friday, 5th October

‘Love Me Do’ single – front cover ReleasedUK single. Love Me Do Peak position: Disc Weekly – #24; Melody Maker – #21; NME – #27; Record Mirror – #17; Record Retailer – #17

The Beatles released their first UK single: ‘Love Me Do / P.S. I Love You’. Brian was supposed to have bought up 10,000 copies for his chain of record shops – because that’s how many you needed to get in the Top 20.

Saturday, 6th October

Performance at the Hulme Hall in Port Sunlight, Birkenhead.

Sunday, 7th October

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Monday, 8th October

Recording session for the radio show ‘The Friday Spectacular’ at the EMI House This show was transmitted on 12th October (Radio Luxembourg) and featured music and interviews with John Lennon, Paul McCartney, George Harrison and Ringo Starr. They played Love Me Do and P.S. I Love You.

Wednesday, 10th October

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Thursday, 11th October

Performance at the Rialto Ballroom in Toxteth, Liverpool.

Friday, 12th October

The Beatles with Little Richard, at the Tower BallroomBackstage with Little Richard – 12 Oct ’62

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

They played another show at the Tower Ballroom in New Brighton, Wallasey later in the day.

The Beatles played a gig with Little Richard who waxed-lyrical about them. “Man, those Beatles are fabulous!” he said. “If I hadn’t seen them I’d never have dreamed they were white. The have a real authentic negro sound.”

Saturday, 13th October

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Monday, 15th October

Performance at the Majestic Ballroom in Birkenhead.

Tuesday, 16th October

Performance at the La Scala Ballroom in Runcorn.

Wednesday, 17th October

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

There was also a recording session for the TV show ‘People And Places’ at the Granada TV Centre. The programme was broadcast live (Granada). They played Some Other Guy and Love Me Do.

The Beatles’ September show at The Cavern was aired on British TV, on the popular ‘People And Places’. This was their first ever appearance on national telly. The show was hosted by Ireland’s Gay Byrne, who later took to Irish telly (…he presided over Boyzone’s disastrous dancing debut on the ‘Late Show’… do you remember that?!)

Friday, 19th October

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Saturday, 20th October

Performance at the Majestic Ballroom in Witham, Hull.

Sunday, 21st October

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

Monday, 22nd October

Performance at the Queen’s Hall in Widnes.

Thursday, 25th October

Recording session for the radio show ‘Here We Go’ at the Playhouse Theatre This show was transmitted on 26th October (BBC Light Programme). They played Love Me Do, A Taste Of Honey and P.S. I Love You.

Friday, 26th October

Performance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool.

They played another show at the Public Hall in Preston later in the day.

Saturday, 27th October

Performance at the Hulme Hall in Port Sunlight, Birkenhead.

There was also a recording session for the radio show ‘Sunday Spin’ at the Hulme Hall This show was transmitted on 28th October (Hospital Radio) and featured interviews with John Lennon, Paul McCartney, George Harrison and Ringo Starr.

Sunday, 28th October

Performance at the Empire Theatre in Liverpool.

Monday, 29th October

Recording session for the TV show ‘People And Places’ at the Granada TV Centre. This show was broadcast on 2nd November (Granada). They played Love Me Do and A Taste Of Honey.

Tuesday, 30th October

The Beatles flew back to Hamburg for another two-week stint. This was all part of an earlier agreement, and they were very unhappy about going, because they’d just seen ‘Love Me Do’ enter the UK charts.


 
Beatles-discography.com is not affiliated with or approved by The Beatles, Apple, MPL, EMI or Capitol Records.
Original content Copyright © 2017 Craig Cross / Beatles-discography.com. All rights reserved.
No part of this website may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form without the prior written permission of the author.
Admin