1 • Beatles album • Read reviews

1 – Read reviews

‘1’ UK album – front cover
Front cover
‘1’ UK album – inside cover, folded-out
Inside cover, folded-out
‘1’ UK album – back cover
Back cover
‘1’ UK album – free photographs
Free portraits
  • Label: Apple 529 3251
  • Released: 13th November 2000
  • Sales figures: after 1 day – 59,000; to date – 2½ million
  • Peak position:
    Record Retailer – #1
  • Weeks at No.1: 9 – from 19th November 2000
  • Weeks in chart: 48 – 38 weeks from 19th November 2000, five weeks from 2nd December 2001, 4 weeks from 17th May 2009, and 1 week from 13th September 2009
‘1’ UK album – CD front cover
Front cover
‘1’ UK album – CD back cover
Back cover
  • Label: Apple 529 9702
  • Released: 13th November 2000
  • Sales figures: after 1 day – 59,000; to date – 2½ million
  • Peak position:
    Record Retailer – #1
  • Weeks at No.1: 9 – from 19th November 2000
  • Weeks in chart: 48 – 38 weeks from 19th November 2000, five weeks from 2nd December 2001, 4 weeks from 17th May 2009, and 1 week from 13th September 2009
‘1’ UK album – CD front cover
Front cover
‘1’ UK album – inside cover, folded-out
Inside cover, folded-out
‘1’ UK album – CD back cover
Back cover
‘1’ UK album – Apple CD label
CD label
  • Label: Apple
  • Released: 5th September 2011
Average rating   from 2 reviews
5-star review  from  Tsmith

If you are new to the Beatles then this is the perfect introduction. Normally I would recommend the Blue Album, as it contains some great album tracks as well, but this is good because it gives a perfect overview of their entire career on one CD.

don’t come to this thinking that it is a best-of CD, because it isnt. There are so many classic Beatles tracks that you cant possibly fit them all on one CD, and some of the songs here can not be regarded as their "best". Love Me Do, for example, is not one of the greats. But it is an historically important track.
Some of their subsequent A-sides (of which this album is made up of) can not be called their best either. Most of the best tracks can be found on their albums – but the Beatles decided early on not to release album tracks as singles, which is why they cannot be found on this album.

But there is a flip-side of that coin – as most of the singles cannot be found on albums either! You want to hear Hey Jude? It’s not on an album, but it is here. You want to hear Penny Lane? Its here too.
But that is a problem with this album. Because if you want to hear the other side of Penny LaneStrawberry Fields Forever, an all-time classic – that is not here. So you have to buy another compilation for that, like Past Masters or the Blue Album. Other great B-side like Revolution and Old Brown Shoe arent here either. So you have to decide whether you are happy with just 1 album, or a better one which includes them too.

But as a taster for what the Beatles could do, this is hard to beat.

5-star review  from  Adam J Arruda

I have been a huge Beatles fan since the age of eight. I believe that if you have never heard of The Beatles, or have yet to listen to their material, I would recommend purchasing "1". My mom bought "1" for my dad and I when I was eight- we love it! This is an excellent retrospective containing 27 of their number one hits spanning from 1962 (Love Me Do) -1970 (The Long And Winding Road), a must for first-time listeners!

How do you rate The Beatles’ album ‘’?

How do you rate this album?

Terrible Poor Below average Average Good Superb

See what’s been voted the best Beatles album in the forum


UK albums 1963Please Please Me With The BeatlesUK albums 1964A Hard Days Night Beatles For SaleUK albums 1965Help! Rubber SoulUK albums 1966Revolver A Collection Of Beatles OldiesUK albums 1967Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band The Beatles FirstUK albums 1968The Beatles (aka The White Album)UK albums 1969Yellow Submarine Abbey RoadUK albums 1970Let It BeUK albums 1973The Beatles / 1962-1966 (aka The Red Album) The Beatles / 1967-1970 (aka The Blue Album)UK albums 1976Rock N Roll Music Magical Mystery TourUK albums 1977The Beatles At The Hollywood Bowl Love SongsUK albums 1978The Beatles CollectionUK albums 1979Hey JudeUK albums 1980Rock N Roll Music Volume 1 Rock N Roll Music Volume 2 The Beatles BalladsUK albums 1981Live! At The Star-Club In Hamburg, Germany 1962UK albums 1982Reel Music The Complete Silver Beatles 20 Greatest HitsUK albums 1988Past Masters Volume 1 Past Masters Volume 2UK albums 1994Live At The BBCUK albums 1995Anthology 1UK albums 1996Anthology 2 Anthology 3UK albums 1999Yellow Submarine SongtrackUK albums 20001UK albums 2003Let It Be… NakedUK albums 2004The Capitol Albums Volume 1 The Beatles First, featuring Tony SheridanUK albums 2006The Capitol Albums Volume 2 LoveUK albums 2009The Beatles In Mono The Beatles Stereo Box-SetUK albums 2014The US Albums
Beatles-discography.com is not affiliated with or approved by The Beatles, Apple, MPL, EMI or Capitol Records.
Original content Copyright © 2017 Craig Cross / Beatles-discography.com. All rights reserved.
No part of this website may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form without the prior written permission of the author.
Admin