Extracts From The Album A Hard Days Night • Beatles UK EP • Sleeve notes

Extracts From The Album ‘A Hard Day’s Night’ – Sleeve notes

‘Extracts From The Album ‘A Hard Day’s Night’’ UK EP – front cover
Front cover
‘Extracts From The Album ‘A Hard Day’s Night’’ UK EP – back cover
Back cover
‘Extracts From The Album ‘A Hard Day’s Night’’ UK EP – Parlophone record label
Record label
  • Label: Parlophone GEP 8924 MONO
  • Released: 6th November 1964
  • Peak position:
    Record Retailer – #8
  • Weeks in chart: 17 – from 9th January 1965
  • Label: Parlophone CDGEP 8924
  • Released: 15th June 1992

Creating a special series of completely new compositions for The Beatles’ first film ‘A Hard Day’s Night’ presented John Lennon and Paul McCartney with on of the greatest challenges of their pop-penning career. They had a schedule deadline to meet, and, by the beginning of March, 1964, they had a dozen brand-new numbers ready for rehearsal. To increase this quota would have left insufficient screen-time for the action of the plot, on the other hand, it seemed unfair to hold back the remainder of the boys’ compositions when each one was of such excellent quality. Eventually the decision was taken to record all the material and place the extra titles on the second side of the soundtrack album.

It is from this second side of the LP that the four tracks of this current EP record have been clipped. Any one of them could have been a highlight of the film, and, indeed, any one of them could make the top of the charts as a single. This is the wonderful thing about the work of The Beatles. They record nothing but the best; there are very few ‘Beatles People’ who will have had cause to claim that any track by John, Paul, George and Ringo has ever fallen short of the fabulous foursomes’ fantastically high standard of composition and presentation.

Composers John and Paul share the solo vocal activity on this EP, although the voice of George Harrison is to be heard in support of their efforts. For the main part, John’s is the dominant voice featured on Any Time At All and When I Get Home. Paul handles the lyrics of Things We Said Today, and he’s heard in duet with John on I’ll Cry Instead.


UK EPs 1963Tony Sheridan With The Beatles Twist And Shout The Beatles Hits The Beatles (No. 1)UK EPs 1964All My Loving Long Tall SallyExtracts From The Album A Hard Days NightExtracts From The Film A Hard Days NightUK EPs 1965Beatles For Sale Beatles For Sale (No. 2) The Beatles Million SellersUK EPs 1966Yesterday Nowhere ManUK EPs 1967Magical Mystery TourUK EPs 1981The EP Collection
Beatles-discography.com is not affiliated with or approved by The Beatles, Apple, MPL, EMI or Capitol Records.
Original content Copyright © 2017 Craig Cross / Beatles-discography.com. All rights reserved.
No part of this website may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form without the prior written permission of the author.